Graduation dream

Graduation & Dead Relative Dream

Graduation dream
Photo credit: Sara Haj-Hassan

In this dream I was at my graduation (I graduated a few years ago by the way). I was sitting in the audience and my classmate and others were on stage speaking. To my surprise, my classmate who was speaking started talking about me and my accomplishments, they even showed old photos of me. I was surprised and started crying (tears of joy and appreciation), and I went up to the stage and thanked and hugged everyone on stage and in the audience. It was almost as if that whole ceremony was to celebrate me.

When I started hugging people in the audience I hugged my parents, and my Aunt (who passed away years ago when I was away in school) was sitting right next to them. I gave her a hug and she was being silly with me and put my hair on her head and she said she liked my hair.

So to dream about graduation means…

To dream you are at a graduation represents your achievements. You are successfully transitioning to a higher level and moving forward to important things.

-DreamMoods

DreamDoctor has the same interpretation of graduation:

Symbolizes successful transition to “next level” of ability and accomplishment. Dreams of graduation usually are very happy dreams. We sense fulfillment and achievement, admiration and respect of our peer group.

-DreamDoctor

To dream of a ceremony represents:

Attending a ceremony suggests that sacrifice and devotion is necessary for success. You may be going through a crucial moment in your waking life that requires your commitment. It is time for introspection, self discovery, and inner changes.

-DreamMoods

Now, for my deceased Aunt, I looked up relatives and according to DreamMoods,

To see your relatives in your dream signify family issues and feelings. Relatives are symbolic of some aspect of your own self.

-DreamMoods

I also looked up “dead” and this is what I found that applies to me:

  1. May be a way to resolve feelings with those who have passed on
  2. If you dream of a person who has died a long time ago, it suggests that a current situation or relationship in your life resembles the quality of that deceased person
  3. To see a dead sibling, relative, or friend indicates you miss them and are trying to relive old experiences you had with them.

I think the graduation and ceremony symbols tie in with new beginnings and moving forward in life.

As for my deceased Aunt (may she R.I.P), I was in tears when I told my Mom about the dream. I felt so happy seeing my Aunt in my dream. I believe she visited me to let me know she is okay and that she is looking over me. Perhaps also that she is proud of my accomplishments even though she was not alive to see me graduate. I do have regrets that I did not visit her while she was alive because I was so preoccupied with school and work. I always told myself that I would visit her after I graduated and unfortunately… that didn’t happen 😦

So although it may sound silly but I do believe she visited me, because truth be told she was not on my mind at all (sorry Auntie!). She passed away maybe over 10 years ago.

I am also taking to heart that it is possible I dreamed about her because “a current situation or relationship in your life resembles the quality of that deceased person“. She worked very hard and did not take care of herself which is why she passed away due to health issues. I am unfortunately headed in that direction right now where all I do is work work work and I am becoming unhealthy. I am going to try to heed her warning and take better care of myself so that I don’t suffer like she did when she was alive.

One thought on “Graduation & Dead Relative Dream”

  1. My aunt got married an had her funeral at my graduation. My oldest brother who is really dead beamed down on the stage. I think he was congratulating me. But my aunt idk?

Leave a comment